Is it permissible to eat grapes made for wine?



The Lajnah ad-Daa’imah stated :

العنب من المأكولات المباحة الطيبة، ولم يرد دليل يحرمه، سواء كان أسود أو غير أسود، فيبقى على الأصل، وكونه يصنع منه الخمر لا يحرمه‏.‏

“The grapes are from the foods that are permissible and pure, and it hasn’t come a proof that declares them (i.e grapes) to be haraam whether they be black (grapes) or not. Therefore, it remains upon its origin and the fact that khamr (i.e intoxicant, alcohol, wine) is made from it doesn’t make it (i.e grapes) haraam. ”

Fatwa number # (3545) ‏.

Translated and Answered by

AbdulFattaah bin Uthman
Abu Fajr